Do early birds really get the worms? Teaser

1978374_10201426606455294_1324050168_o

(This is just a sketch, I want to make more changes still)

I have always heard the saying, “early birds get the worms”, and this saying has been the ideology my parents and teachers in China followed for years. But as I grow older, I started to think waking up early is not the only way to get the worms in our lives.

Being in school in China, I had to wake up at 5 o’clock everyday to get to school and not be able to go home until 10 at night because I had to practice math problems after school. I worked so hard everyday and now that I look back at it, I wondered if all that effort I put in was worth it. I have to admit though, being in the Chinese education system helped me get really good at mathematics and memoizing theories and definitions I needed to get high scores on tests. But after I came to US, I do not think these are the things that will help me get through life more smoothly.

When I first came to the United States, I was shocked at how creative the students were. Teachers in the US give their students a lot of room to express what the students had in mind when it came to writing and creative arts. But I on the other hand, was lacking the creative side because I was so used to obeying the rules and do exactly what my teachers in China told me to do. I was jealous how the American students can create something unique and special on que. Here is the twist: American students usually do not wake up for school until 7 o’clock.

Leave a Reply

